Not So Mellow Yellow

I made this set for my dear friend Amy’s son Andrew, who just turned six.  His favorite color is yellow, and he really likes cheetahs.  I told Amy I would *try* a cheetah, and you can kind of tell that this was a first effort.  My biggest problem with the cheetah was that I used a bear cutter for the full bodied guy – once I started decorating I realized that the shape was totally wrong, so I tried to compensate and that didn’t work out so well. I ended up with a disproportionate animal.  Hopefully Andrew won’t mind.

Also, I think I have a block against yellow. It is my second least favorite color, and I couldn’t get inspired about it.  I really wish I had been able to make a spectacular set for Andrew, but it just didn’t happen.  I think the whole set would have looked better if I’d outlined everything in black first.  Maybe next year!

IMG_0688 initials and cheetahIMG_0690 cheetah with letter A smIMG_0695 Andrew yellow 2012

One thought on “Not So Mellow Yellow

Leave a Reply

