Out of This World

My best friend’s son likes all things space, and I wanted to try shipping cookies to him for his fourth birthday.  I had the idea of making an entire solar system for him, along with some rockets and shuttles.

This set represented a lot of firsts.  It was the first time I tried a chocolate rollout, and my first time to ship cookies anywhere. The chocolate turned out nicely, the shipping not so much. In retrospect I am quite embarrassed about the way I shipped them all wrapped in wax paper and weird packing in what can only be described as a hodge podgey manner; I’ve learned a lot since then.

For the solar system I kept referring to NASA’s website.  I tried not to have to mix too many colors for the planets, but I ended up making a gigantic mess in the kitchen and having to make a new batch of icing just to finish the cookies.

Presenting Jupiter (above)!  This was one of the most difficult ones for some reason.

I didn’t have a shuttle cutter or rocket cutter, so I had to freehand those, and they ended up not looking very consistent.  This is another one of those times where it would have been good to trace the image first with edible marker!

That shuttle on the left is supposed to be Saturn V.  If I had it to do all over again, I would have cut a really long rectangle cookie for that one.  I ran out of room on it and wasn’t happy with the end result, but included it in the set because it was the birthday boy’s fave.

2 thoughts on “Out of This World

  1. I love the cookies! I want to do something similar for my son’s 1st grade class. What type of frosting did you use?

Leave a Reply

